This house was built at the same time as the Chilehaus and was thus one of the first Kontor-houses in Hamburg.
It obtained the name Ballinhaus from the famous ship owner Albert Ballin. In 1938, the Nazi regime renamed it “Meßberghof”. The Meßberghof has ten floors and a direct line of sight to the Speicherstadt on the inner side of the customs channel. In contrast to the Chilehaus, the Meßberghof captivates with its peaceful, deliberately constructed two-dimensional façade. However, the entrance hall impresses viewers with the staircase with round staircase eye, the floor with bright polished sandstone clad plates and the travertine or coloured tiles. Today the Hachez Chocoversum can be found in the rooms of the Meßberghof.