In 1793, the three new owners of the area Sieveking, Matthiessen and Pool did not waste any time in converting the area into today's popular Donners Park. Several buildings once stood on the grounds, but none of these has survived the passing of time. The public were able to visit the park for the first time in 1912/3. Since then, this park between Heinepark and Rosengarten with its view of the Elbe has been one of the most popular green areas in the city. On the area which covers 4.3 hectares, there are expansive lawn areas for sunbathing and for winter a tobogganing hill for recuperation and fun. Donners Park can be reached on foot from Altona suburban railway station or by bus no. 36.