• vergrößern © panthermedia
  • vergrößern © panthermedia
  • vergrößern © panthermedia
  • vergrößern © panthermedia
  • vergrößern © panthermedia
  • vergrößern © panthermedia

    Jenischpark in Hamburg offers visitors to the city the opportunity to relax and get to know the historical background of the park. The Jenisch House and the Ernst Barlach House are cultural delights in the beautiful 43 hectare park.

    At the end of the 18th century, the park was designed as an English garden for Baron Johann Caspar Voght and remodelled in 1828 after being purchased by the Hamburg Senator Martin Johann Jenisch. Jenischpark was taken over by the town of Altona in 1927 and ownership was finally transferred to the City of Hamburg eleven years later.

    This park in Othmarschen offers visitors not only beautiful countryside with rolling meadows, old maple, chestnut and oak trees and a small stream, it also includes the Jenisch House and the Ernst Barlach Museum. There are numerous tourist cafés in the immediate vicinity of Jenisch Park in Hamburg. You can also wander back along the Elbe to Oevelgönne. Besides the many interesting sights in the Hanseatic city, visitors should take a trip to Jenischpark in Hamburg to relax and enjoy the beautiful nature. A trip on a steamer on the Elbe can be combined with a relaxing walk through the park.

    Travellers who visit the popular Hanseatic city in northern Germany can relax in Jenischpark in Hamburg after a long day of sightseeing and attractions. With its old trees and the Flottbek flowing through the park, Jenischpark is a popular destination and also the oldest English garden in the entire city. Today, parts of the park, especially the Flottbek water meadows, are protected.

    The park can be reached by bus lines 286 and 115 as well as the suburban trains S1 and S11. However, the most beautiful way to reach the park is through the neo-baroque Kaisertor on the Elbchausee. There are also numerous parking options available nearby.

    The Jenisch House and Ernst Barlach Museum

    The site was purchased by Senator Martin Johann Jenisch in 1828 and designed by the Scottish landscape gardener James Booth. The result in 1834 was the Jenisch House, a manor house in the classical style that Senator Jenisch had built for himself and his family. Today, it houses a museum that reflects 19th upper-class life and from which visitors can enjoy a fantastic view of the Elbe River. Those who are interested can learn a lot about its history and discover events such as illustrated talks through the Verein Freunde des Jenischparks (Friends of Jenisch Park), which has supported maintenance and restoration projects in the historic park for several years.

    On the ground floor of the Jenisch House, there are large state rooms and lounges, a staircase that extends to all floors as well as the dining room and the salon facing the Elbe which bears the same name. The second floor originally housed the private quarters of Senator Jenisch and his family. The top and the lowest floor were originally reserved for the servants; today, various exhibitions are held here. And with the typical soft museum slippers, visiting is twice as much fun!

    In the Ernst Barlach Museum visitors can view a variety of works by this sculptor and be entertained by a documentary insight into his life.

    Show map


    Do you need help or want to
    book by phone?

    +49 (0) 40 - 300 51 701

    Mon-Sat: 09.00 h - 19.00 h

    Loading results...
    Wait a minute, please!

    Your Hamburg Tourismus Team